TO DO NOW! Feb 6, 2021

Please help to save the
Capitol-Park Theater!

THIS IS OUR LAST CHANCE: Time is almost up
Despite the raze contract being signed, there are still a few options!
The raze might start Feb 9, 2021, unless we act.

Drawing of the Capitol-Park Theater
3014-3021 Washington Ave, Racine WI 53405
UPDATE Sat Feb 6, 2021

Many people have received boilerplate letters from the City that contain misleading information, which is a poor basis for their decision. 

On Feb 5, 2021: We submitted our Development/Restoration Plan to the City (Mayor and Alders) for purchasing the property and rehab/restoration phases. Items included letters of understanding for purchase, bids on the roof repairs and immediate brick work, a commitment for $1 million liability insurance, and other documents that support our intended plan.

It is not too late for the Mayor to reconsider, and call a special meeting (he can call one with 6 hours notice.)

We have still not seen the WRITTEN NOTICE (original inspection report) itemizing any “unsafe” parts of the building and the required repairs. This is legally required before any raze order can be made.

Meanwhile, we are still exploring legal options and contacting more officials, and ask that you continue calling the alders and the mayor, as below.

More updates every day! Check out our Facebook page too!


SO, WHAT ELSE CAN BE DONE?

Please email/call the alders (you can just leave a message), this time, telling them that the Capitol Theater Friends HAVE the money to buy the building, insure it, and repair the roof and walls to seal the building envelope. Ask them again, to please find a way to pause the raze order.

Ask all three of these questions:

  1. Why not just cancel the raze? It will save $150,000 (after the $50,000 cancellation penalty)!
  2. How are they funding this demolition? If through Federal Block Grants, they must do a “Section 106″ review. Have they done this? Show us the report!
  3. Where is the legally required WRITTEN NOTICE (Ordinance 18-38), listing the “unsafe” parts of the building? WE HAVE NEVER SEEN THIS WRITTEN NOTICE. Show it to us: it is required BY LAW before a building can be razed.

How to contact Racine city officials

clerks@cityofracine.org, edwin.santiagojr@cityofracine.org, Henry.Perez@cityofracine.org, Jason.Meekma@cityofracine.org, jeff.coe@cityofracine.org, jeffrey.peterson@cityofracine.org, John.TateII@cityofracine.org, marcus.west@cityofracine.org, mary.land@cityofracine.org, maurice.horton@cityofracine.org, melissa.lemke@cityofracine.org, Jennifer.Levie@cityofracine.org, Mollie.Jones@cityofracine.org, natalia.taft@cityofracine.org, samuelpeete1@gmail.com, trevorjung@gmail.com, Shannon.Powell@cityofracine.org, scott.letteney@cityofracine.org, Kathleen.Fischer@cityofracine.com, capitoltheaterfriends@gmail.com

Jeff Coe   (262) 637-0531
Maurice Horton   (262) 770-8377
Mollie Jones   (262) 634-2971
Trevor Jung   (262) 721-6400
Mary Land   (262) 456-6585
Melissa Lemke   (262) 994-8943
Jennifer Levie   (414) 364-2192
Mayor Cory Mason    (262) 636-9111
Jason Meekma   (262) 488-4694
Henry Perez    Henry.Perez@CityofRacine.org
Sam Peete    262-230-2017
Jeffrey Peterson    (262) 321-4410
Edwin Santiago, Jr.    (262) 822-8302
Natalia Taft   (414) 234-5225
John Tate II    (262) 770-5183
Marcus West   (262) 930-2200

Please, please call the MAYOR (again) and ask him to listen to his voters! He can be the hero here: his leadership can be good for everyone!
Holding the Chief Inspector accountable is the responsible thing to do.

We only have days left to save this 1928 historic building.
There are three ways to contact the Mayor (use them all!)

  1. Online message form: https://www.cityofracine.org/ContactTheMayor
  2. MAYOR phone: 262 636 9111
  3. MAYOR email: cory.mason@cityofracine.org
    (cc: capitoltheaterfriends@gmail.com)

Once the 1928 historic landmark building is gone, it can never be replaced
www.CapitolTheaterRacine.com
– Capitol-Park Friends Restoration Committee –
Racine Landmark Building, deemed eligible for National Historic Register


Please Pledge: https://www.capitoltheaterracine.com/pledge/