HELP! — IT’S NOT TOO LATE!

IT IS STILL NOT TOO LATE!
Despite the raze contract being signed, there are still a few options!

Drawing of the Capitol-Park Theater
3014-3021 Washington Ave, Racine WI 53405

The building is still standing Feb. 15, 2021!

It is very cold so maybe that will delay this a little longer. BUT we are running out of time. Some equipment is parked on site, but the raze has not started yet.

Photograph of the canopy of the Capitol-Park Theater
Yes! Please save this theater!

Please call (email, too), but CALLS ARE BEST… a real voice!

Most of the time you will get their answering machine, so be ready:
Jot down 1-3 sentences that make your point, then call…
Leave your name and phone number, than thank-them for their time

  • The public is asking to pause the raze. What’s the hurry?
  • The raze order is 2.5 years old and the bldg. is still standing strong!
  • Waiting a few more months won’t hurt.

The Mayor is not replying to the Development Plans we submitted, so please call him first:

MAYOR CORY MASON 262-636-9111
Online form to send message
https://www.cityofracine.org/ContactTheMayor/
Email cory.mason@cityofracine.org

Ask him to find a way to pause this raze contract. He can save the 1928 historic landmark building. He is the only one who can!
(and…If you know his friends, please ask them to talk to him.)

Photograph of backhoe parked in front of the Capitol-Park Theater
The wrecker’s backhoe parked in front of the Capitol-Park Theater

These aldermen voted NO
to the 3-month pause in the raze

Please call them next. Ask them to ask the Mayor to find a way to pause this raze contract.  They can help save the 1928 historic landmark building, that the public wants saved.

  • John Tate II (262) 770-5183
  • Melissa Lemke (262) 994-8943
  • Jennifer Levie (414) 364-2192
  • Jason Meekma (262) 488-4694
  • Sam Peete (262) 230-2017
  • Edwin Santiago, Jr. (262) 822-8302
  • Marcus West (262) 930-2200
  • Maurice Horton (262) 770-8377

These alders voted yes
(please thank them)
but their help is still needed

Ask them to call the Mayor & ask for a special meeting, to work out the details for a 3 month pause in the raze. (Note: The contractor might be willing to work out the details.)

  • Jeff Coe (262) 637-0531
  • Mollie Jones (262) 634-2971
  • Trevor Jung (262) 721-6400
  • Mary Land (262) 456-6585
  • Jeffrey Peterson (262) 321-4410
  • Natalia Taft (414) 234-5225
  • Absent:
    Henry Perez, was ill, but maybe now he will help (262) 676-2364

How to contact Racine city officials

PLEASE SEND YOUR emails asking to pause the raze, what’s the hurry? The raze order is 2.5 years old and the building is still standing strong!  Waiting a few more months won’t hurt.

clerks@cityofracine.org, edwin.santiagojr@cityofracine.org, Henry.Perez@cityofracine.org, Jason.Meekma@cityofracine.org, jeff.coe@cityofracine.org, jeffrey.peterson@cityofracine.org, John.TateII@cityofracine.org, marcus.west@cityofracine.org, mary.land@cityofracine.org, maurice.horton@cityofracine.org, melissa.lemke@cityofracine.org, Jennifer.Levie@cityofracine.org, Mollie.Jones@cityofracine.org, natalia.taft@cityofracine.org, samuelpeete1@gmail.com, trevorjung@gmail.com, cory.mason@cityofracine.org, Kenneth.Plaski@cityofracine.org, Shannon.Powell@cityofracine.org, scott.letteney@cityofracine.org, Kathleen.Fischer@cityofracine.com,
citydevelopment@cityofracine.org, Carter.Evans@cityofracine.org, Nicholas.Ricciardi@cityofracine.org, Ralph.Nichols@cityofracine.org, Daniel.Kirchenberg@cityofracine.org, Brian.Dechant@cityofracine.org, Yvette.Huizar@cityofracine.org, Matthew.Sadowski@cityofracine.org, jeff.hintz@cityofracine.org, Michelle.Cook@cityofracine.org, capitoltheaterfriends@gmail.com

Jeff Coe   (262) 637-0531
Maurice Horton   (262) 770-8377
Mollie Jones   (262) 634-2971
Trevor Jung   (262) 721-6400
Mary Land   (262) 456-6585
Melissa Lemke   (262) 994-8943
Jennifer Levie   (414) 364-2192
Mayor Cory Mason    (262) 636-9111
Jason Meekma   (262) 488-4694
Henry Perez    (262) 676-2364
Sam Peete    262-230-2017
Jeffrey Peterson    (262) 321-4410
Edwin Santiago, Jr.    (262) 822-8302
Natalia Taft   (414) 234-5225
John Tate II    (262) 770-5183
Marcus West   (262) 930-2200

Thanks for your help!
Let’s save this 1928 historic landmark building for a public venue!

www.CapitolTheaterRacine.com
– Capitol-Park Friends Restoration Committee –
Racine Landmark Building, deemed eligible for National Historic Register
https://www.facebook.com/friendsofthecapitoltheater